Consequences for Underage Drinking and Driving in New Jersey
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Fri Nov 2020
High school and college students just want to have fun. As such, most don’t really think about the fact that it is illegal to have alcoholic drinks if they are under age or the consequences of doing so. If kids under 21 years old are caught drinking, however, the fun can quickly come to a stop.
If your child has been charged with underage drinking in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, it is important that you immediately consult with an experienced New Jersey DWI/DUI attorney.
What Is Underage Drinking?
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, a person under the age of 21 who gets behind the wheel of a car after consuming a single drink of alcohol will lose his or her driver’s license for at least 30 days to 90 days. This offense is commonly known as the “Baby DWI statute” in the state of New Jersey, but there is nothing “baby” about it. If convicted on these charges, you could face serious consequences and penalties.
Penalties and Fine for Underage Drinking in New Jersey
When a juvenile is convicted of a “Baby DWI” under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, the consequences are harsh. If you are under 21 years old, drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system (.01 BAC or above), and are convicted for violating New Jersey’s zero tolerance law, the penalties are:
- Loss or postponement of driving privileges for 30 to 90 days
- 15 to 30 days of community service
- Referral to an IDRC or participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program
The process for adjudicating DWI’s is identical for adults and juvenile. Usually, juvenile matters are handled at the Family Court level. However, motor vehicle offenses are typically handled at the municipal court level. DWI matters are considered traffic violations. As such, a juvenile arrested in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14 will have his or her case handled by the Municipal Court of that city or town where the offense occurred.
What Should I Do If My Child Has Been Arrested For DWI?
If your child has been charged with DWI or “Baby DWI” pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, it is imperative to immediately consult a New Jersey DWI juvenile defense attorney. The penalties for DWI or “Baby DWI” are severe. You need an experienced attorney protecting your child’s rights with the most aggressive defense strategy possible.
Call Us Today!
If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, you can count on the experienced and knowledgeable New Jersey DWI attorneys at Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC to get protect your legal rights.
Call us at 908-355-7100 to schedule a complimentary consultation with one our driving while intoxicated lawyers today.