Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Wed Nov 2020
Many motorists who are pulled over for a routine traffic stop are surprised to find out from the police officer that their license is suspended. Operating a vehicle with a suspended license can carry serious fines and penalties under New Jersey law, including a minimum of $500 in fines, plus surcharges and other penalties such as additional periods of license suspension.
If you or anyone you know is charged with driving with a suspended license in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, it is imperative that you immediately consult with an experienced New Jersey traffic ticket attorney.
Common Reasons Why Your Driver’s License Can Get Suspended in New Jersey
There are a variety of reasons why your driver’s license can be suspended under New Jersey law. It’s important that you keep accurate contact information with the State of New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) so that you can be notified if your license has been suspended.
Here are some of the common reasons why a driver’s license can be suspended in New Jersey:
- Receiving 12 or more points on one’s driving record
- Failure to appear in court or to pay fines
- Failure to pay surcharges
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Physical or mental disqualification
- Conviction for drug or alcohol use while driving (DWI)
- Reckless driving
- Vehicle abandonment on a public highway
- Fault in a fatal accident
Consequences for Driving With a Suspended License Under New Jersey Law
If you are caught driving with a suspended license under N.J.S.A 39:3-40, you could be subject to serious fines and penalties. Depending on the specific facts of your case, you may face the following fines and penalties:
A fine of $500 n 10 to 90 days imprisonment
1 to 2 years additional license suspension
If you are involved in a crash while your license is suspended and someone is hurt, you face a mandatory jail sentence of 45-180 days
Revocation of motor vehicle registration
Call Us Today!
If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, you can count on the experienced and knowledgeable New Jersey DWI attorneys at Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC to get protect your legal rights.
Call us at 908-355-7100 to schedule a complimentary consultation with one our driving while intoxicated lawyers today.