Important Dates in Your New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Claim
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Fri Jul 2011
- Workers Compensation,
How many days of work do I need to miss before I’m eligible to receive workers’ compensation?
To receive temporary disability benefits, you must be unable to work for seven days. These days do not need to be consecutive, and weekends and holidays count toward the total. After seven days have elapsed, you will receive benefits retroactively to the first day of your injury.
There is no waiting period for medical benefits or permanent disability benefits. You can receive these benefits no matter how many (or how few) workdays you miss due to your injury.
How long will it take to receive temporary disability benefits?
It typically takes about two weeks for you to start receiving payments. In no case should you have to wait more than 30 days to receive payments. Such a delay is presumed to be unreasonable, and your employer or your employer’s insurer may have to pay an extra 25 percent on top of what you are already owed, plus reasonable legal fees you incurred fighting the delay.
What is the statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims?
You have two years from the date of injury or the date of last payment of compensation to file a formal claim petition (whichever is later).
If you are injured due to long-term working conditions rather than a one-time accident (such as in cases involving asbestos exposure or hearing loss), the two years will be calculated from the date you first became aware that your medical condition was related to your employment.
If you have been injured at your job and you want a free evaluation of your case by an experienced New Jersey workers’ compensation attorney, please contact Dan T. Matrafajlo at (908) 248-4404.