New Jersey Promotes Drunk Driving Campaign
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Mon Dec 2020
New Jersey state law enforcement will be spending the rest of 2020 cracking down on driving under the influence, amongst other traffic offenses. The “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” holiday enforcement campaign began Friday, December 4th and will continue through January 1, 2021.
This DWI enforcement campaign takes place during the summer and holiday season in New Jersey. “Drive Sober or Get Pull Over” aims to deter intoxicated driving and other dangerous behaviors on the road through increased and highly visible law enforcement. The goal of the program is prevention and not arrest, but arrests will be made if and when necessary. Law enforcement’s goal is to use the “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” message to convince audiences that the chance of being caught is too high to risk.
This message works and has influenced many citizens not to drink and drive. During the 2019 holiday enforcement campaign, 336 law enforcement agencies in New Jersey made 1,380 drunk driving arrests. The police agencies also issued more than 2,000 seat belt citations, 5,000 speeding citations, and 1,000 cell phone or texting citations.
Every year, more than 10,000 people die in impaired driving-related motor vehicle crashes in New Jersey. Although impaired driving is not considered a crime under New Jersey law, it is nevertheless a very serious offense and carries severe penalties.
Penalties for New Jersey DWI Convictions
Penalties for a first-time driving while intoxicated conviction includes up to 30 days and a possibility of more than $4,000 in surcharges, fines and other fees. A DWI conviction can also result in a driver’s license suspension and the installation of an ignition interlock device (breathalyzer) on the driver’s vehicle for up to 18 months. Once installed, the device will prevent the car from turning on until someone breathes into it with an alcohol-free breath.
Penalties for a second offense in 10 years can result in even stricter penalties. This includes up to 90 days of jail time, a license suspension of up to 2 years, and fines up to $5,000.
If you have been arrested and charged with driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, you can count on the experienced and knowledgeable New Jersey DWI attorneys at Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC to get protect your legal rights.