License Suspension in NJ: What You Need To Know
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Fri Apr 2021
Driving is a privilege not a right. You could lose your driving privileges as a result of a simple driving mistake, and the loss of your license could have a significant impact on your daily life. Getting to work can suddenly become a laborious task. Going to the grocery store can become almost impossible. Even picking up your kids from school or a play date can be arduous.
Hiring an experienced New Jersey license suspension attorney can help you avoid the loss of your driving privileges. You need to act immediately after your license is suspended. Even the slightest delay in hiring an attorney could negatively impact your case.
What Could Lead to a License Suspension?
Common reasons for the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) to suspend your driver’s license include:
- Fraud such as using another individual’s valid driver’s license
- Third-offense cellphone violation, resulting in up to 90-day suspension
- Being at fault in a fatal accident
- 12 or more points on your driving record
- Physical or medical issues
- Violating a traffic law while on probation by the MVC
- Failure to pay fines assessed under the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System
- Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- Reckless driving
Advanced technology has enabled the MVC to become even more efficient in tracking possible violations. The agency’s first reaction is to suspend your driver’s license. An experienced New Jersey license suspension attorney’s first reaction would be to avoid that possibility.
3 Steps to Driver’s License Restoration in New Jersey
Unlike some states, New Jersey does not offer temporary “bread and butter” licenses which allow drivers to perform basic tasks like commuting to work and going to school. If your driver’s license has been suspended in New Jersey, you have to wait until your suspension period ends before you become eligible to drive again. You cannot apply for a temporary license during the waiting period. This makes it critical to work with an aggressive NJ license suspension attorney to reduce the terms of your suspension.
Once the period of suspension is over, your license will not be automatically restored. You need to pay the $100 restoration fee to the MVC before you can officially regain your driving privileges. You can make this payment in four pays:
- In person, at an MVC Agency with walk-in services.
- In person, at your local Regional Service Center.
- Online by debit card, though an additional processing fee will apply.
- By check or money order mailed to the below address:
- New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
- P.O. Box 140
- Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
Call Us Today!
If your drivers license has been suspended or revoked, you can count on the experienced and knowledgeable New Jersey license suspension attorneys at Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC to get protect your legal rights.
Call us at 908-355-7100 to schedule a complimentary consultation with one lawyers today.