What’s the Penalty for a Second DWI Conviction in New Jersey?

  • Dan T. Matrafajlo
  • Tue Mar 2024
  • DWI,
  • 0
DWI Attorney

Driving while intoxicated (“DWI”) is defined under N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 as operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of any controlled substance with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater. It is best to avoid getting convicted on any DWI charges, especially if it is a second or subsequent offense. With each conviction, the penalties and consequences become greater.

Consequences for a Second DWI Offense

If you are convicted of a second DWI violation, you will be:

  • Subject to a fine between $500 and $1,000,
  • Ordered by the court to perform community service for a period of 30 days,
  • Sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than 48 consecutive hours and no more than 90 days (the 48 hours can be at the intoxicated driver’s resource center in lieu of jail if the Judge permits it),
  • license suspension for a minimum period of one (1) year to a maximum of two (2) years upon conviction,
  • Required to install an ignition interlock device during the period of license suspension on the defendant’s vehicle which must remain on the vehicle after license restoration for a minimum period of twenty-four (24) months to a maximum of forty-eight (48) months after their driver’s license is restored

In addition to the consequences listed above, you may also be subject to other penalties including:

  • A $100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund,
  • A Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100 and an Intoxicated Driving Program fee of $100,
  • A Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50,
  • A Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75

Reducing DWI Penalties with New Jersey’s Ten-Year Step-Down

New Jersey’s Ten-Year Step-Down law can save some individuals from a second-offense DWI status. Under this law, if 10 years have passed since your first DWI conviction, you are entitled to a step down that permits a second New Jersey DWI to be treated as a first offense when it comes to sentencing.

The step-down rule only applies when the individual charged with a DWI requests its application. This means that you must know that the law exits in order to be able to invoke it. Most individuals do not know about this law, making it imperative to hire an experienced and credentialed New Jersey DWI defense attorney to handle your case.

Contact Us Today!

If you have been arrested for drunk driving, you should discuss your case, including any potential meritorious motions to suppress, with an experienced Elizabeth DWI attorney. For more information or to schedule a free consultation with one of our skilled attorneys, please call Beninato & Matrafajlo Attorneys at Law, LLC at 908-248-4404.

This post is also available in %s.

Dan T. Matrafajlo

Dan T. Matrafajlo

NJ State Bar: #031722003

Dan T. Matrafajlo, Esq., is the managing member and lead partner at Beninato and Matrafajlo, Attorneys at Law, LLC. Renowned for groundbreaking contributions to personal injury law, he has set legal precedents with influential Appellate decisions and garnered recognition in the New Jersey Law Journal. A consistent honoree on Super Lawyers' Rising Star list for the past five years, Matrafajlo's litigation prowess is widely acknowledged. He has won various awards like Super Lawyers, Thomson Reuters Association 2019, and Nominated into Super Lawyers as a Rising Star from 2012 until the Present.

  • logos