New Jersey Workers’ Compensation: Duration of Temporary Disability Benefits
Temporary disability benefits are available to employees who have been injured for at least 7 days as a result of a work-related accident. New Jersey’s worker’s compensation statutes allow up to 400 weeks or 7.7 years of temporary disability benefits. To ensure that you get the maximum benefits you deserve, you should contact an experienced workers’ comp attorney in New Jersey.
The Details of the Duration of Temporary Disability Benefits
Under the state’s workers’ compensation statutes, the employer or its liability carrier is obligated to continue temporary disability benefits until you are able to go back to work and continue permanently or until you are as far cured as the permanent character of your medical condition will allow, whichever happens first.
If you attempt to return to work too soon but are still unable to perform your job tasks, your right to temporary disability will continue. However, the days that you attempted to work may be deducted from your total benefits.
When an Employer Does Not Pay Up
In some situations, employers or their insurance liability carrier are reluctant to provide additional treatment if an initial course of treatment fails. If this should occur and you are still unable to return to work due to your injuries or medical condition, your workers’ comp attorney in New Jersey should file a Motion for Medical Treatment Temporary Disability Benefits.
Contact an Experienced New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
For more information about the duration of your temporary disability payments under New Jersey’s workers’ compensation statutes or if you have any other workers’ compensation concerns, call the Law Offices of Dan T. Matrafajlo at (908) 248-4404 to schedule a complimentary consultation with one of our experienced workers’ comp attorneys. We have offices in Elizabeth, North Brunswick and Newark, New Jersey to better serve you.