Do I Have To Report My Car Accident?
- Dan T. Matrafajlo
- Tue Aug 2016
- Car Accidents,
When you are involved in a car accident, there are a lot of steps that you need to take – even if the accident may seem minor to you. Most motor vehicle accident victims mistakenly believe that if the accident is not too major, they won’t need to make a big deal out of it. In some cases, the other party who caused the accident may even try to persuade you not to involve the police so that he or she can avoid getting a traffic ticket for violating traffic laws. So, you may be tempted to forgo calling the police and simply try to deal with this on your own.
This may seem logical in the immediate aftermath of an accident that doesn’t cause life-threatening injuries. However, when you fail to report a car accident, you can leave yourself open to serious consequences. If you start to feel more pain in the days or weeks following the accident or if your property is more damaged than you initially expected, you are going to wish that you had reported the accident when it happened.
Accident Reporting Laws in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, it isn’t only a good idea to report a car accident – it is the law! If you break this law, it has consequences, even costing you your driving privileges. New Jersey law requires car accident victims to submit a written accident report within 10 days to the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) if any of the following apply:
- The accident resulted in the death of any party involved
- Any party involved in the accident suffered a personal injury, even if not life threatening
- Property damage to any of the vehicles involved in the accident amounts to more than $500 in repairs
Unfortunately, even a low-impact accident can cause serious injuries, symptoms of which may not surface until weeks later. Moreover, the same low impact accident can also result in relatively minor cosmetic property damage that can still cost more than $500.
The bottom line is that if you fail to report your car accident to the NJDOT, you may not only end up losing your ability to seek monetary compensation, but also lose your driving privileges.
Call an Experienced New Jersey Car Accident Attorney
If someone you know or love has been injured in a car accident, or any other type of accident, caused by the negligent or reckless actions of another party, you need to make it a priority to look for an experienced car accident attorney who will work hard to help you seek the damages from the parties responsible for the death of your loved one. For more information or to schedule a complimentary consultation with a New Jersey car accident lawyer, please call the Law Offices of Dan T. Matrafajlo at (908) 248-4404.